



Inspiring Excellence in Wood Architecture & Design 2021-22 Wood Design & Building Award Winners Announced

Ottawa, ON, March 2, 2022 – <u>Wood Design & Building</u> magazine announces the winning projects of the 38th annual Wood Design & Building Awards program. The influential awards program recognizes and celebrates the outstanding work of visionaries around the world who achieve excellence in wood architecture.

The awards this year showcase an eclectic mix of structures. Winners include a social housing apartment in Spain, a ski club in Canada, and a flagship restaurant for a major chain fast food chain in the U.S. Also among the winners is the first Passive House–certified community center in Canada. This year, more than ever, it is apparent that architects and engineers are designing with sustainability in mind.

A new addition to this year's program is the 'Against the Grain' award. This award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to the wood industry. This year's inaugural recipient is Dr. Nancy Mackin. Her architectural mandate—that each building can contribute to environmental and cultural resilience—is exemplified in the Tsawwassen First Nation Youth Centre. Dr. Mackin included the Tsawwassen First Nation community in many architectural decisions and invited Tsawwassen artists to design both interior and exterior elements of the Center.

"As the global architectural community tackles critical challenges that include reducing the carbon footprint of the built environment and meeting the vast and growing need for housing, it is clear that responsible development requires buildings that consider both embodied energy and operational impact," said Andrew Bowerbank, Vice-President of Market Development for the Canadian Wood Council. "Wood construction is an avenue for delivering the beautiful, sustainable, high-performance buildings of today and tomorrow."

Wood Design & Building magazine and the Canadian Wood Council extend their appreciation to all participants in the 2021/22 awards program and thank both the program's sponsors for their ongoing support, and the esteemed members of the jury for their time and expertise. The members of this year's jury are:

- Marie-Odile Marceau, Principal at McFarland Marceau Architects
- Donald Chong, Design Principal at HDR
- Tom Chung, Principal at <u>Leers Weinzapfel Associates</u>

AWARD WINNERS

HONOR

- Parc de la Chute-Montmorency Experience Chute, Québec, Québec, Daoust Lestage Lizotte Stecker
- 85 Social housing at Cornellà, Barcelona, Spain, Peris+Toral Arquitectes

MERIT

- m.o.r.e. Cabin, Wakefield, Québec, Kariouk Architects
- Adidas North American Headquarters Expansion, Portland, Oregon, LEVER Architecture and Studio O+A
- Tianfu Agricultural Expo Main Hall, Chengdu, China, China Architecture Design & Research Group

CITATION

- Osler Bluff Ski Club, Blue Mountains, Ontario, Williamson Williamson Inc.
- Ashen Cabin, Ithaca, New York, HANNAH Design Office LLC
- Clayton Community Centre, Surrey, British Columbia, hcma

- McDonald's Chicago Flagship, Chicago, Illinois, Ross Barney Architects
- Meyer Memorial Trust Headquarters, Portland, Oregon, LEVER Architecture
- Waskesiu Beach House, Waskesiu, Saskatchewan, 1x1 architecture inc.
- Berlin Metropolitan School-Sustainable extension of a GDR-era prefabricated school building, Berlin, Germany,
 Sauerbruch Hutton
- Erlev School, Haderslev, Denmark, Arkitema
- Gulao Waterfront, Jiangmen, China, LUO studio

CANADIAN WOOD COUNCIL AWARDS

- Structural Innovation: Malahat Skywalk & Visitor Centre, Malahat, British Columbia, Murdoch + Company Ltd.
- Residential: Forest Retreat, Caledon, Ontario, Kariouk Architects
- Commercial Building: Idaho Central Credit Union Arena, Moscow, Idaho, Opsis Architecture with Hastings+Chivetta

SUSTAINABLE FORESTRY INITIATIVE- SPONSORSHIP AWARD

Idaho Central Credit Union Arena, Moscow, Idaho, Opsis Architecture with Hastings+Chivetta

SANSIN- SPONSORSHIP AWARD

District of Columbia Public Library - Southwest Library, Washington, District of Columbia, Perkins&Will

WESTERN RED CEDAR- SPONSORSHIP AWARD

- Riverbend, Jackson, Wyoming, CLB Architects
- Wii Gyemsiga Siwilaawksat Student Housing, Terrace, British Columbia, hcma

WOOD PRESERVATION CANADA- SPONSORSHIP AWARD

• Passerelle de la Tortue, Québec, Québec, ABCP architecture

NEW: AGAINST THE GRAIN AWARD

• Nancy Mackin - Tsawwassen First Nation Youth Centre project

FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT:

Ioana Lazea Wood Design & Building Awards ilazea@cwc.ca

PROUDLY SPONSORED BY:











